

Mt. San Antonio College

Campus Equity and Diversity Committee (CEDC) Minutes from September 9, 2024

9:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.

Location: Zoom

Committee Members

X Tika Davé-Harris, AVPHR (Tri-Chair)		Vacant, Faculty Association Rep		Vacant, Academic Senate Rep
Vacant, Academic Senate (Tri-Chair)		Vacant, Academic Senate		Vacant, Faculty Association Rep
X Robin Cash, Classified 262 Rep (Tri-Chair)		Vacant, Classified 651 Rep	Х	Esther Santiago, Committee Recorder
X Stacy Bacigalupi, Academic Senate		Tami Pearson, Continuing Ed Rep		Vacant, Academic Senate Rep
X LaToya Bass, Confidential Rep		Vacant, Classified 262 Rep		Vacant, Academic Senate Rep
Vacant, Classified 651 Rep	X	Lisa Rodriguez, Acting Director of POD (VPHR Designee)		Vacant, Associated Students Rep
Pricilla Garcia, ACCESS Rep		Vacant, Management Rep		
Yvette Garcia, Classified Senate Rep		Vacant, Management Rep		

ITEM		DISCUSSION/COMMENTS	ACTION/OUTCOME
1.	Committee Member Check-in		
2.	Agenda Review	Agenda reviewed	 Motion to adopt the agenda by R. Cash, 2nd by L. Rodriguez. Agenda approved by acclamation.
3.	Review Minutes from June 3, 2024 Meeting	 Item 3 comment was revised (the sentence was revised for clarity). Item 4 comment was revised (the sentence was reworded for clarity). Item 6 comment was revised ("applicants" on the third bullet point was changed to "employees"). 	 Motion to approve the minutes by L. Bass, 2nd by T. Davé-Harris. Abstentions: None. Minutes approved by acclamation.
4.	CEDC Committee Composition	 E. Santiago projected the current CEDC membership list. T. Davé-Harris shared that the Ed Code § 53005 (District Advisory Committees) does not specify how many members a district equal employment opportunity advisory committee needs to have. Any changes made to the membership must go to President's Advisory Council (PAC). T. Davé-Harris discussed the current overlap in duplicate appointees. 	 Motion by T. Davé-Harris to approve the revised committee composition as proposed by S. Bacigalupi, 2nd by R. Cash. Motion to approve the rotation of the Classified Tri-Chair based on the EEO Plan term by T. Davé-Harris, 2nd by L. Rodriguez. Motion to approve staggering member terms but not the duration by T. Davé-Harris, 2nd by S. Bacigalupi. Abstentions: None.

- L. Bass confirmed all classified groups have the option to be a tri-chair, and that it was agreed that a CSEA 651 or 262 rep would be chosen as one.
- The committee agreed that the term rotation for the Classified tri-chair should rotate with the current EEO Plan term.
- The committee agreed that the rotation should only apply to those who are currently on the committee.
- T. Davé-Harris confirmed there is no requirement regarding the committee composition (no by-laws) other than including a diverse group of members from district stakeholder groups, including, but not limited to, students, faculty, and classified staff.
- The committee pointed out that the School of Continuing Education (SCE) and Accessibility Resource Centers for Students (ACCESS) have specific reps, but other departments are not specifically represented.
- S. Bacigalupi shared that the current committee size is too large, and does not see the benefit of the Student rep, SCE rep, and the ACCESS rep.
- L. Bass confirmed the committee grew over time as other groups added appointees. ACCESS wanted to be included although their focus is for students.
- L. Rodriguez stated the Deaf and Hard of Hearing Services (DHHS) department has been underrepresented.
 T. Davé-Harris confirmed employees from DHHS are represented under CSEA 262.
- L. Bass confirmed AVPHR and the VPHR designee are not included as management reps.
- T. Davé-Harris confirmed we will keep the Student rep since we compare student data to district employees.
- S. Bacigalupi suggested that appointees should be represented to reflect the groups hired at the District: AVPHR (Tri-chair), VPHR designee, CSEA 262 (Tri-chair), Academic Senate (Tri-chair), Faculty Association appointee, Management appointee, CSEA 651 appointee, Classified Senate appointee, Confidential appointee, and a Student rep appointee.

		 The committee agreed to stagger the terms for the three classified appointees to help prevent simultaneous vacancies. S. Bacigalupi shared the committee may not be able to meet via Zoom due to The Brown Act. 	T. Davé-Harris to research whether the Brown Act is applicable to this committee.
5.	EEO Annual Certification Draft	T. Davé-Harris provided an update from the CCCCO for participating and being awarded the pilot Equal Employment Opportunity Innovative Best Practices grant. The District must submit quarterly progress reports for the 2024-2025 FYE. Quarterly reports are due October 31, 2024, January 31, 2025, and April 30, 2025.	
6.	Roundtable	 L. Bass suggested discussing monitoring disabilities (which are currently not tracked) in a future meeting. L. Bass discussed the difference of sub-categories that the District and the CCCCO monitor and suggested aligning the District's data with the same groups that the CCCCO monitors for consistency. Chairs R. Cash and T. Davé-Harris agreed. 	L. Bass to prepare and send out to the committee before the next meeting.
7.	Adjournment	The meeting was adjourned at 10:04 a.m.	 Motion to adjourn the meeting by T. Davé-Harris, 2nd by L. Rodriguez.