

Melba Castro, Co-Chair Raul Madrid, Co-Chair Esteban Aguilar Krysten DeWilde □ Bruce Nixon Tania Anders ☐ Briseida Ramirez-Catalan Madelyn Arballo Elizabeth Estevez George Bradshaw Eva Figueroa Morales Monika Chavez ☐ Roger Wills Renu Katoch

Student Representative:

Dani Silva

Recorder: Monica Jones

Guest: Jane Nazzal, Julie Marquez, Tami Pearson

Item No.	Agenda Item	Outcome	
1.0	Review Today's Agenda and Minutes: <u>June 3, 2024</u>	Motion to add AP 4010 Academic Calendar to agenda made by Sara, Elmer Second. Vote. Motion Passed.	
		Motion to approve minutes from June 3, 2024, made by Esteban, Francisco Second. Vote. Motion Passed.	
		Accreditation Standard IV.A.7	
2.0	Shared Governance: Committee Structure	Discussed Shared Governance and committees reporting to SPEAC including requirements of committees, taskforces, and workgroups. Melba and Raul will send email to committee co-chairs requesting input on committee structure and recommendations.	
a.	Draft requirements of committees, taskforce, workgroups		
b.	Brown Act and Timeline		
C.	Brainstorming	Accreditation Standard IV.A.2 Accreditation Standard IV.A.7	



3.0	Legislative Regulatory Updates:		
3.1	AB 928 Student Transfer Achievement Reform Act of 2021 George & Francisco	George, Francisco and Jane Nazzal presented the following: AB 928 Student Transfer Achievement Reform Act of 2021 • Key Components ○ Presenting ADTs in CCCAPPLY ○ Developing the Student Educational Plan ○ Handling the Exemptions Informational Accreditation Standard I.B.6 Accreditation Standard I.B.7 Accreditation Standard I.C.1	
	5 Minute Break		
4.0	AP/BP Updates (ongoing): 5000 Series review 4000 Series review		
4.1	AP 5150 Extended Opportunity Programs and Services	Julie Marquez reviewed changes to AP: • Education Code reference • Definition of CARE and CAFYES programs • EOPS/CARE/NextUP Program goals • Addition of "CARE" and "NextUp" throughout document • Updated Evaluation of Program and Services • Updated Program Requirements Motion to approve made by Francisco, Bruce Second. Vote. Motion Passed. Accreditation Standard I.B.7	
4.2	AP 5040 Student Records, Directory Information, and Privacy	Table for future meeting	
4.3	AP 4010 Academic Calendar	Minor changes made. Motion to approve made by Bruce, Elmer Second. Vote. Motion Passed. Accreditation Standard I.B.7	
5.0	Committee Meeting Minutes for Review and Approval:		



a.	Student Equity - April 22 minutes received for acceptance. Co-Chairs: Eric Lara & Bruce Nixon	Motion to approve minutes made by Dani, Elmer Second. Vote. Motion Passed. Accreditation Standard IV.A.7	
b.	Assessment and Matriculation – March 13 and May 22 minutes received for acceptance. Co-Chairs: George Bradshaw & Krysten DeWilde	Motion to approve minutes made by Esteban, Bruce Second. Vote. Motion Passed. Accreditation Standard IV.A.7	
C.	Retention and Persistence – <u>April 23</u> minutes received for acceptance Co-Chairs: Katie Datko & Elizabeth Casian	Motion to approve minutes made by Tania, Esteban Second. Vote. Motion Passed. Accreditation Standard IV.A.7	
d.	Textbook and Materials - no minutes received and Zero Textbook Cost (ZTC) Pathways resolution received for acceptance. Co-Chairs: Monika Chavez & Sylvia Romelia	Table for next meeting.	
e.	Education and Technology – <u>April 22</u> minutes received for acceptance. Co-Chairs: Melba Castro & Raul Madrid	Motion to approve minutes made by Francisco, Elmer Second. Vote. Motion Passed. Accreditation Standard IV.A.7	
	Future Agenda Items:		
	BP 5560 Outside Speakers/Performers (revisions recommended by Kevin Owen) - pending		
	Future Meeting Dates: October 7, October 21, November 4, November 18, December 2,		
	December 16, March 3, March 17, April 7, April 21, May 5, May 19,		
	June 2		



Membership

Position Represented	Name	Term
Vice President, Student Services (Co-Chair)	Melba Castro	ongoing
Vice President, Academic Senate (Co-Chair)	Raul Madrid	ongoing
Academic Senate President	Tania Anders	ongoing
Faculty (appointed by Academic Senate)	Esteban Aguilar	2022-25
	Elmer Rodriguez	2023-26
	Sara Mestas	2023-26
	(Noncredit) Briseida Ramirez-Catalan	2022-25
	Renu Katoch	2023-26
Representative* (appointed by the Vice President, Instruction)	Madelyn Arballo	2022-25
Representative* (manager appointed by the Vice President, Instruction)	Jimmy Tamayo	2022-25
Dean of Counseling	Francisco Dorame	ongoing
Assessment and Matriculation Committee Co-Chair faculty, or faculty designee	Krysten DeWilde	ongoing
Textbook & Instructional Materials faculty Co-Chair or faculty designee	Monika Chavez	ongoing
Student Equity Committee Co-Chair faculty, or faculty designee	Bruce Nixon	ongoing
Retention and Persistence Committee Co-Chair faculty, or faculty designee		
Dean of Enrollment Management	George Bradshaw	ongoing
Classified representing Student Services* (appointed by CSEA 262)	Elizabeth Estevez	2021-24
Classified representing Instruction* (appointed by CSEA 262)	Eva Figueroa Morales	2021-24
Students (appointed by the Associated Students)	Dani Silva	2023-24

^{*}Appointments should be made with consultation among the Academic Senate President, the Vice President, Student Services, and the Vice President, Instruction to ensure representation from each of the following areas: Counseling, Assessment and Matriculation, Student Equity, and Basic Skills. A 50% plus one balance of council members will favor faculty representation.